Syndicat Professionnel des  
Homéopathes Classiques  
du Québec (CPMDQ)
Canadian Union of  
Homeopaths

What is homeopathy?

The word “homeopathy” comes from the Greek words “homoios” (similar) and “pathos” (pain or illness). Homeopathy – Therapeutic system based on the principles of similarity, dilution and dynamization of homeopathic remedies.

Homeopathy in the history of medicine

Strongly influenced by the Viennese school of medicine, and acquiescing to the theses of the modernist physicians, a young German medical student named Samuel Hahnemann synthesized his masters’ approach to the properties of medicinal substances.

He developed a new pharmacopoeia that soon became a new therapeutic method, which he named “homeopathy” in 1808. It was the result of observation and pharmacological study of the medicinal substances of the traditional pharmacopoeia, based on experiments on healthy humans.

The traditional pharmacopoeia was made up of plant, animal and mineral substances, known and passed on through experience. These drugs were still called “simples”. In 1796, he published the results of his work in an article entitled “Essai sur un nouveau principe”, which described the principles of the homeopathic method.

In 1810, he published a work entitled “Organon ou l’art rationnel de guérir” (Organon or the Rational Art of Healing), which sets out and develops his method, enriches it with fundamental data on the approach to disease, and describes the principles of homeopathic medicine manufacture.

Hahnemann’s “new medicine” was then referred to as “new therapeutics”. Hahnemann’s “new medicine”, as it was popularly known, was based on a number of new principles set out in “Essai sur un nouveau principe” (Essay on a New Principle) and widely developed in the Organon from 1810 onwards.

In it, Hahnemann sets out the basis for determining the drug according to the principle of similitude; the choice of deconcentration; and Hahnemannian dilution.
Today, strengthened by Hahnemann’s legacy, homeopathy builds on these foundations, enriched by 200 years of medical practice and evolution.

Syndicat Professionnel des  
Homéopathes
Classiques
 du Québec

L'homéopathie, c'est quoi ?

Le mot  » homéopathie  » vient des mots grecs « homoios » (semblable) et « pathos » (douleur ou maladie). Homéopathie – Système thérapeutique fondé sur les principes de similitude, de dilution et de dynamisation des remèdes homéopathique.

L’HOMEOPATHIE DANS L’HISTOIRE DE LA MEDECINE

Très influencé par l’école de Vienne, acquit aux thèses des médecins modernistes, un jeune étudiant Allemand en médecine, Samuel Hahnemann, synthétise l’approche de ses maîtres sur les propriétés des substances médicamenteuses.

Il met en place une nouvelle pharmacopée qui deviendra très vite une nouvelle méthode thérapeutique qu’il nommera en 1808 « homéopathie ». Elle est issue de l’observation et de l’étude pharmacologique des substances médicamenteuses de la pharmacopée traditionnelle à partir de l’expérimentation sur l’homme sain.

La pharmacopée traditionnelle était constituée de substances végétales, animales et minérales, connues et transmises par l’expérience. Ces drogues étaient encore appelées les simples . Ce sont ces substances qui seront à l’origine des médicaments homéopathiques-il publie en 1796 le résultat de ses travaux dans un article, « Essai sur un nouveau principe »  qui décrit les principes de la méthode homéopathique.

En 1810 il publie un ouvrage, l’Organon ou l’art rationnel de guérir », qui expose et développe sa méthode, enrichit de données fondamentales sur l’approche de la maladie, et décrit les principes de fabrication du médicament homéopathique. 

On parle alors de « nouvelle médecine » dans le sens de nouvelle thérapeutique.  La « nouvelle médecine » d’Hahnemann, telle qu’elle est qualifiée par l’opinion, s’appuie sur quelques nouveaux principes énoncés dans « Essai sur un nouveau principe » et largement développés dans l’Organon dès 1810.

Hahnemann y précise les bases pour déterminer le médicament selon le principe de similitude;  le choix de la déconcentration;  la dilution Hahnemannienne.

Aujourd’hui, forte de l’héritage d’Hahnemann, l’homéopathie s’appuie sur ces bases enrichies de 200 ans de pratique et d’évolution médicale.

 

Code de Déontologie des membres de la CPMDQ